UPDATE: Bulloch listed as under State of Emergency; I-16 Contraflow to Start Saturday Morning

From the Governor’s Office at 12:30PM today (Thursday, Sept. 7)…

Georgia Governor Nathan Deal has declared a state of emergency for 30 counties ahead of any potential impacts of Major Hurricane Irma.

The 30 counties under a state of emergency are: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Jeff Davis, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Wayne and Ware Counties.

Governor Deal’s Executive Order states all citizens East of Interstate 95 along Georgia’s coastline are asked to mandatorily evacuate the region beginning at 8 a.m. on Saturday, September 9, 2017. The mandatory evacuation will be a phased evacuation at the direction of Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency in cooperation with county emergency management agencies.

See the Executive Order Here.

Also, contraflow on I-16 will start at 8am Saturday morning…

Sources: Bulloch VOAD Facebook and WTOC